Activities Archive

(Go here to see upcoming activities)
Displaying 1 - 10 of 134
Date: Tue, 11/08/2020 - 18:30
By: Romala Govender
Western Cape
How the west has changed: Late Mio-Pliocene marine mammal fauna from South Africa’s west coast
 
Romala Govender, Curator Cenozoic Palaeontology, Iziko Museums of South Africa, Cape Town, South Africa
 
Date: Tue, 14/07/2020 - 18:30
By: Hayley Cawthra
Western Cape
With significant advances in marine geophysical mapping methods in recent years, geologists are able to use sophisticated technology to map the seafloor at a resolution – with certain instruments – to within a decimetre.
Date: Tue, 09/06/2020 - 18:30 to 19:30
By: Michael Chazan, University of Toronto
Western Cape
Wonderwerk Cave, located in the Northern Cape Province between the towns of Danielskuil and Kuruman provides the oldest known human occupation of a cave with strata reaching back almost two million years.  Excavations by the late Peter Beaumont exposed a sequence of Oldowan, Acheulean, Fauresmi
Date: Tue, 12/05/2020 - 18:30
By: Esther Esmyol
Western Cape

Today most table and teaware will have a maker’s mark that says ‘Made in China’ but this is not a modern phenomenon.

Date: Tue, 10/03/2020 - 18:30
By: Patricia Groenewald
Western Cape

Western Cape

Date: Thu, 05/03/2020 - 19:30
By: Prof Tom Huffman
Northern
Charge: Non-members: R30, members: free 
You will need to show your driver’s licence to gain access to the school 
Date: Tue, 11/02/2020 - 18:00
By: Jessica Nitschke
Western Cape

Date: Thu, 06/02/2020 - 19:30
By: Dr Brent Sinclair Thompson
Northern
Charge: Non-members: R30, members: free 
You will need to show your driver’s licence to gain access to the school
Date: Sun, 24/11/2019 - 00:00
Northern
Date: Tue, 12/11/2019 - 18:30
By: Marlize Lombard and Anders Högberg
Western Cape
Today, Still Bay points are best known from Blombos Cave but there is no detailed study of how such point production varied through time at the site.